Escutcheons of Science
 Heinrich Hertz (1857-1894)

Heinrich Rudolf Hertz (1857-1894): Radio waves (1888).
Gustav Ludwig Hertz (1887-1975): Nobel 1925.
Carl Hellmuth Hertz (1920-1990): Medical ultrasonography.

[ The above copyrighted picture is reproduced here by permission:   © 2008 Jochen Wilke. ]

Quarterly. [1 & 4] Gules a harp Or.  [2 & 3]  Argent, three hearts Gules.

Crest:   A fallow stag's head Argent, armed and langued Gules.
Mantling: Gules and Argent,

 Heinrich Rudolf Hertz (1857-1894)  
Heinrich Hertz (1857-1894)

At least four members of the Hertz family are noteworthy scientists:

1.   Heinrich Rudolf Hertz (1857-1894)  founded the science of  contact mechanics in 1882,  discovered the photoelectric effect in 1887 and demonstrated the existence of electromagnetic waves in 1888.  The SI unit of frequency  (symbol Hz)  was formally named after him, in 1960  (it had been introduced in 1930 to replace the former  cps = cycle per second).

2.   Gustav Ludwig Hertz (1887-1975).  Nobel 1925.  Nephew of Heinrich.

3.   Hellmuth Hertz (1920-1990).  Pioneer of medical ultrasonography.  Son of Gustav.

4.   Hans Hertz  (born on 1955-08-22 in Lund, Sweden).  Son of Hellmuth and grandson of Gustav.  Hans Martin Hertz  was elected ro the  Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences  in 2007  and to the Royal Swedish Academy of Engineering Sciences  in 2008.      Heinrich Hertz  Signature of Heinrich Hertz
visits since January 5, 2008 Valid HTML
 (c) Copyright 2000-2015, Gerard P. Michon, Ph.D.